Open/Close Menu Emirates Literature Foundation
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages
portfolio
Slide background
Slide background

On the Radio

Talking of Books on DubaiEye 103.8FM

On Saturdays from 10:00am-1:00pm

Talking of Books is a weekly review show which showcases some of Dubai’s most intrepid readers. Every week co-hosts Isobel Abulhoul and Annabelle Corton are joined by an ever-changing cast of guest reviewers drawn from the UAE’s reading community. Each show features different literary anecdotes to improve your dinner party conversation, a star ‘Castaway’ guest recommending the three books they’d take to a desert island, the book-related questions you’ve always wanted to know the answers to in The Big Question, not to mention in-depth reviews of books that haven’t even hit the shelves yet.

Talking of Books features regular interviews with today’s greatest writers, with previous interviewees including bestselling novelists Chris Cleave, superstar children’s authors Jacqueline Wilson, Andy Stanton and David Almond, internationally-renowned philosopher AC Grayling and rugby legend Brian Moore. And if you’re lucky enough you’ll catch Literary Soundtrack at the end of the show, highlighting a song inspired by literature every single week.

Coming up on Saturday, December 8, 2018

This week on Talking of Books,

In light of recent events, aka Nick Jonas and Priyanka Chopra getting married(!!), we will be talking about When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon, a timely review! What happens when violence and death come to the land under the Northern Sky and two fierce races break their age-old peace and start a war? Author Rehan Khan will be talking about The Wolf by Leo Carew and he’ll be spilling the beans on his own soon-to-be-published novel The Tudor Turk. Festival Author Daniela Tully is the author of Hotel on Shadow Lake, an epic romance and a Gothic family saga.

Join the conversation by texting in to 4001 from 10am-1pm on Dubai Eye 103.8.

Listen to our most recent show

Click here to listen to the entire show

Isobel Abulhoul

Isobel says the three hours she spends on the show each week fly by. “This is a very enjoyable hobby and not my job … the hard work is having to read the books every week and research all the material for the program.”
Isobel says she enjoys talking about books with “like-minded people” and lists author Paolo Coelho as her most challenging interview. “He is a very difficult character to pin down and it was a great challenge to get him to commit to anything beyond yes and no!”

Annabelle Corton

Annabelle Corton loves words, especially when they’re in the right order. During the week she assists in curating the programme of events for #DubaiLitFest, runs the Festival Book Club and Foundation Writing Group, and comes back for even more book chat on Saturday’s Talking of Books show.
Annabelle has been a regular guest on a variety of shows across the Dubai Eye network, discussing the written and spoken word. When she’s not behind the mic, you can find her curled up on the sofa next to her dogs Rex and Lola, reading.
Still, after all this time?
Always.

Upcoming Show

I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes with Death

“I Am I Am I Am is a gripping and glorious investigation of death that leaves the reader feeling breathless, grateful, and fully alive. Maggie O’Farrell is a miracle in every sense. I will never forget this book.”
—Ann Patchett

An extraordinary memoir—told entirely in near-death experiences—from one of Britain’s best-selling novelists, for fans of Wild, When Breath Becomes Air, and The Year of Magical Thinking.

We are never closer to life than when we brush up against the possibility of death.

I Am, I Am, I Am is Maggie O’Farrell’s astonishing memoir of the near-death experiences that have punctuated and defined her life. The childhood illness that left her bedridden for a year, which she was not expected to survive. A teenage yearning to escape that nearly ended in disaster. An encounter with a disturbed man on a remote path. And, most terrifying of all, an ongoing, daily struggle to protect her daughter–for whom this book was written–from a condition that leaves her unimaginably vulnerable to life’s myriad dangers.
Seventeen discrete encounters with Maggie at different ages, in different locations, reveal a whole life in a series of tense, visceral snapshots. In taut prose that vibrates with electricity and restrained emotion, O’Farrell captures the perils running just beneath the surface, and illuminates the preciousness, beauty, and mysteries of life itself.


The Ticket on DubaiEye 103.8FM

Look back on The Ticket’s Radio Book Club where Director of the Emirates Airline Festival of Literature, Ahlam Bolooki, looked at reads for the train and the plane, etc as well as book news. Listen to the podcasts on the Dubai Eye website.

Ahlam Bolooki

Ahlam discovered her love for books when she was 18 years old though she grew up with her mother taking her to the Sharjah Book Fair each year and was always encouraged to read. The book that transformed Ahlam into a reader was Shame by Jasvinder Sanghera which eventually encouraged Ahlam to read non-fiction struggles of women. Later, she discovered poetry leading her to attend workshops at New York City’s Gotham Writer’s Center, where she studied poetry for several months but also experimented with memoirs, fiction, scripts, you name it! Ahlam finds it difficult to choose a favourite genre as it’s always ever changing and she’s still in the midst of discovering her literary self. She’s catching up on all the gems she missed as a child such as ‘The Little Prince’ and ‘The Giving Tree’, but has also developed a new appetite for Crime Fiction so who knows what’s next?

Listen to our most recent show

The Radio Book Club with Ahlam Bolooki from the Emirates Airline Festival of Literature looks at reads for the train and the plane, etc.

Click here for more podcasts

Conversations from the LitFest

Best of Emirates Airline Festival of Literature 2017

Now you can listen to your favourite Emirates Airline Festival of Literature 2017 sessions, only on Dubai Eye, from July 13 – September 1. Tune in every Thursday, 9pm-11pm, or every Friday, 4pm-6pm, for repeats. You can also listen to podcasts of the sessions after they’ve aired on the Dubai Eye website.

Click here for Podcasts

We Want to Hear from You!

© 2018 Emirates Literature Foundation
Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions